President Akufo-Addo nominates four judges to Supreme Court 


By Edzorna Francis Mensah

The President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo in accordance with Article 144 (2) of the Constitution of the Republic of Ghana has nominated four (4) justices to the Supreme Court.

They are Justice Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu-Justice of Appeal; Justice George Kingsley Koomson-Justice of Appeal; Justice Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu-Justice of Appeal; and Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu-Justice of the High Court.

A communication from the Presidency on the appointment of the nominees as justices of the Supreme Court addressed to the Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin dated 25th July 2022 titled: “Re: Appointment of Justices to the Superiors Court”, noted that, “as a result of pending and projected vacancies on the Supreme Court this year, the Judicial Council advised me on 4th July, 2022, by letter under the hand of its Chairperson, Chief Justice Anin Yeboah, of the suitability of my nominations for appointment to the Court of the following persons, in accordance with Article 144 (2) of the Constitution of the Republic.

According to the President, upon receipt of the Judicial Council’s advice, and in accordance with my duty under Article 144 (2), I consulted with the Council of State by submitting the names and curricula vitae of the nominees for appointment to the Court. The Council of State has, by letter, dated 25° July, 2022, notified me of the successful completion of the consultation process.

The letter as read on the floor by the Speaker urged the house to approve the nominees with the speed it deserves to enable them to assume office as soon as practicable. The Speaker has referred the nominees to the Appointments Committee of The House for consideration and report.

More stories here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here